Looking North, by Jessica Auer

[November 23, 2021]

By Louis Perreault

In Jessica Auer’s most recent film, Shore Power, one scene could act as prelude for Looking North1. We see a large window, opening out to a calm body of water. After a moment, on the right, a huge ferry appears and then crosses the image very slowly. What is striking at first is the immense size of the ship. An off-screen voice reads a tourist guide relating the transformations in local communities since the explosion of mass tourism in Iceland, where the scene is filmed.

This same view of the Seydisfjördur fjord, in eastern Iceland, is also in the book Looking North, this time as a fixed image. It is juxtaposed with an interior view in which we barely make out the trace of light from the window on the opposing wall. Captured in the studio belonging to Auer, who now divides her time between Iceland and Canada, these photographs seem to want to indicate that her approach is rooted in personal and direct observation of the tourism phenomenon, a subject that she explored in the project that made her name, Re-creational Spaces.

The series of images in the book shows places of extraordinary beauty – mountains, grassy plains, impressive waterfalls, inviting hot springs, steep cliffs. Each, however, is marked by the insistent presence of tourists – seen here in groups, there scattered around, and farther on alone, probably seeking a more private experience of the scenery. Tourist buses, groups of parked bicycles or motorbikes, and crowded tent encampments all indicate just one thing: Iceland, with its undeniable natural attractions, is now merchandised for tourism. Such series of landscapes showing anonymous occupation of the territory by tourism are related to Auer’s previous photographs, but it is the addition of portraits of travellers that makes this project new and particularly interesting. We knew that Auer was capable of composing landscapes comparable with those of the greatest contemporary landscape artists, but in this series we find a fascinating cohabitation of places by those who experience them. In the direct and extremely precise style that characterizes all of Auer’s work, the portraits humanize tourism and force us to recognize in these faces, poses, and gazes, inhabited by the joy of discovering the marvels of travel, the experience that almost all of us want to have – that of discovering a vast and awe-inspiring world. Although the point of the book is certainly critical of the tourism industry, Auer’s gaze avoids condescension toward those who feed the industry; rather, through simple and direct documentation of her subject, Auer throws into relief the contradictions behind many of our individual and societal aspirations.

Looking North is a modestly designed book; the choice of a small illustration of a fishing boat stamped on a cardboard cover evokes the industry that once reigned in the country. The images succeed each other without necessarily creating a series or developing a particular story. The book functions more by addition, as the photographs produce their effects by accumulation. Repeatedly seeing these places flooded with visitors strengthens the impression that their invasion is major, even disturbing. Readers who appreciated the mixture of direct observation and personal narration in Auer’s two preceding books (Unmarked Sites [2011] and January [2017]), will find this book simpler but no less effective and engaging. Translated by Käthe Roth

1. Another Place Press, Scotland, 2021, 78 pages, 25.5 x 20.5 cm, perfect-bound. www.anotherplacepress.bigcartel.com/product/looking-north-jessica-auer

Jessica Auer, Looking North – Louis Perreault

[23 novembre 2021]

Par Louis Perreault

Dans le plus récent film de Jessica Auer, Shore Power, une scène pourrait agir de prélude à Looking North1. On y aperçoit une grande fenêtre, ouvrant sur un plan d’eau calme. Après un moment d’attente, sur la droite, apparait un immense bateau de croisière qui traversera ensuite l’image très lentement. Ce qui frappe d’abord ici est la taille démesurée du navire. En voix off, on entend un guide touristique raconter les transformations qu’ont subi les communautés locales suite à l’explosion du tourisme de masse en Islande, où est filmée la scène.

Cette même vue sur le fjord de Seydisfjördur, situé dans l’est du pays, fait d’ailleurs partie de l’ouvrage Looking North, sous forme d’image fixe cette fois. Elle est juxtaposée à une vue d’intérieur où on devine la trace lumineuse de la fenêtre sur le mur opposé. Captées dans l’atelier de l’artiste, qui partage désormais son temps entre l’Islande et le Canada, ces photographies semblent vouloir indiquer que sa démarche prend racine dans l’observation directe et personnelle du phénomène touristique, un sujet qu’Auer a d’ailleurs exploré dans le projet qui l’a fait connaître, Re-creational Spaces.

La série d’images que nous découvrons dans l’ouvrage montre des lieux d’une beauté exceptionnelle, faits de montagnes, de plaines gazonnées, de chutes d’eau impressionnantes, de bains thermaux invitants et de falaises abruptes. Chacune d’elle est toutefois marquée par la présence insistante des touristes qu’on voit ici en groupe, là éparpillées dans l’espace, et plus loin solitaires, probablement à la recherche d’une expérience plus intime des lieux. Les autobus touristiques, les regroupements de vélos ou de motos stationnés ainsi que les campements de tentes agglomérées indiquent tous une seule chose : le territoire islandais, avec ses attraits naturels indéniables, se marchandise maintenant pour le tourisme. Si une série de paysages montrant une occupation anonyme du territoire par le tourisme s’apparente aux photographies que l’on connaît déjà de l’artiste, c’est l’ajout de portraits de voyageurs qui confère à ce projet sa nouveauté et une part importante de son intérêt. On savait Auer capable de composer des paysages qui n’ont rien à envier aux plus grands des paysagistes contemporains, mais on découvre dans cette série une belle cohabitation des lieux avec ceux qui en font l’expérience. Dans un style direct et extrêmement précis qui caractérise l’ensemble de l’œuvre de Jessica Auer, les portraits humanisent le phénomène touristique et nous forcent à reconnaître dans ces visages, ces postures et ces regards habités par la joie de découvrir les merveilles du voyage, l’expérience que nous cherchons presque tous à vivre, soit celle de découvrir un monde vaste et impressionnant. Si le propos de l’ouvrage est certes critique du phénomène touristique, le regard de l’artiste évite d’être condescendant envers ceux qui nourrissent cette industrie; plutôt, par la documentation simple et directe de son sujet, Auer met en relief les contradictions qui animent nombreuses de nos aspirations individuelles et sociales.

Le livre Looking North est un ouvrage conçu sobrement, où le choix d’une petite illustration d’un bateau de pêche estampée sur un couvert cartonné évoque l’industrie qui régnait autrefois dans le pays. Les images se succèdent sans nécessairement créer de suite ou développer une narration particulière. Nous sommes davantage dans un livre qui fonctionne par addition, où les photographies produisent leurs effets par accumulation. Le fait de voir à répétition tous ces lieux inondés de visiteurs renforce l’impression que leur invasion est importante, voire dérangeante. Si le lecteur aura apprécié le mélange d’observations directes et de narration personnelle des deux livres précédents de l’artiste (Unmarked Sites, 2011 et January, 2017), il trouvera ici un livre conçu plus simplement, mais non pas moins efficace et engageant.

1. Another Place Press, Écosse, 2021, 78 p. 25,5 x 20,5 cm, reliure allemande. anotherplacepress.bigcartel.com/product/looking-north-jessica-auer